Journey

2014: South Downs Pilgrims’ Way

Will on the Way

Will Parsons

Guy Way

Guy Hayward

Hayward and Parsons are making a Winter Pilgrimage

From Winchester to Canterbury…again.

This summer we mapped a new version of the classic North Downs Pilgrims’ Way, an update necessary to avoid the M25 motorway sections. We hoped this might help renew interest in Britain’s oldest pilgrimage route. Watch our short video Here (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kb1xKjTkwqU)

This Autumn/Winter we are going a step further – we’re swapping the Downs.

From Winchester to Canterbury we will follow the South Downs, Britain’s newest National Park. It will be indirect and wiggley, taking three weeks to complete. But we don’t want to miss all the good stuff that lies a mere handful of miles off the official South Downs Way path.

Being almost winter on the hilltops by the sea, there will be mixed weather, so sleeping outside and cooking on fires will be interesting. We’re also walking off without any money, except what we pick up singing local traditional songs. It bodes well for a strong pilgrimage.

 

SDW-map1

the path a heartbeat

Anyone wishing to walk or sing along, please get in touch through the website. SEe below for our (approximate) route plan and timings.

Our Itinerary

Fri 24 Oct – Arrive Winchester.

Sat 25 Oct– Winchester. Dole from Hospital of St Cross.

Sun 26 Oct – St Mary’s Itchen Stoke. Source of River Itchen. Milbury well singing. Old Winchester Hill.

Mon 27 Oct – The Sustainability Centre. Source of River Meon. The Hangers. Harrow Inn, Steep.

Tues 28 Oct– Petersfield. Beacon Hill. Kingley Vale Yew Forest.

Wed 29 Oct – Chichester. Devil’s Ditch.

Thurs 30 Oct – Trundle Hillfort. Weald and Downland Open Air Museum.

Fri 31 Oct – DAY OF REST – Slindon Church

Sat 1 Nov – Arundel. Water Dragon of Lyminster.

Sun 2 Nov – Washington. Chanctonbury Ring. St Botolphs Pilgrim Church.

Mon 3 Nov – Fulking spring. Chattri War Memorial.

Tues 4 Nov –Brighton

Wed 5 Nov – Rotingdean, Kipling & Copper family. Lewes Fireworks.

Thurs 6 Nov – Glyndebourne, Mount Caburn, Firle.

Fri 7 Nov – DAY OF REST.

Sat 8 Nov – Alfriston, Cuckmere Valley, Seven Sisters.

Sun 9 Nov – Remembrance in Eastbourne, Towner Gallery, Pevensey Levels.

Mon 10 Nov – Ashburnham Place.

Tues 11 Nov – Battle, Hastings.

Wed 12 Nov – Winchelsea, Rye, Stone in Oxney.

Thurs 13 Nov – Saxon Shore.

Fri 14 Nov – Hythe, St Leonard’s Crypt, Elham Valley

Sat 15 Nov – Canterbury – St Martins, St Augustines, Cathedral. Walk to Sea. End.
Please follow our progress, songs, discoveries and meetings through:

This Website, Facebook & Twitter

 

Sky NDW

———————————————————————

 
The British Pilgrimage Trust
If like us you feel that Britain needs more pilgrimage, please help us to make this happen. Our charitable trust is striving to make pilgrimage accessible and inclusive, but we have a long way to go. Your help on this journey is vital. Thank-you for your support.